#### Country codification in the EU LFS from 2009 onwards

The codes below apply to the variables: nationality, country of birth, country of place of work and country of residence one year before survey.

In principle the individual alphabetical codes should be used. In case of European countries these are the only valid codes. The aggregated numerical codes for the regions (in bold) should only be used in exceptional cases for the non European countries.

#### Summary of changes:

- The codes for Montenegro (XM  $\rightarrow$  ME) and Serbia (XS  $\rightarrow$  RS) are changed compared to the previous version.
- The code for Nigeria (which was wrongly given as NU in the first 2006 codification list) should be NG (corrected also in 2006 and 2007 versions)

#### Further notes:

- The countries of the European Union and the candidate countries are ordered by the
  official order. The other groups are ordered by alphabetical order of their country
  codes.
- The following overseas countries and territories of the European Union are listed as "countries" in this document:

French Polynesia

Greenland

**Netherlands Antilles** 

New Caledonia

Saint Pierre and Miquelon

These territories are not included in the territory of the European Union, but their inhabitants have the citizenship of a member state of the European Union and are therefore citizens of the European Union. The respective codes should hence be used for country of birth, country of place of work, and country of residence one year before survey only, but not for nationality.

• The codes are mainly based on the ISO country codification and the GEONOM nomenclature for the external trade statistics of the Community and statistics of trade between Member States. However, there exist some small deviations, e.g. for the United Kingdom the code UK instead of GB is used. What is more, some codes are not used at all to be consistent with the practices of Eurostat's demographic statistics (e.g. GI for Gibraltar, as the citizens are EU-citizens and represented by the UK).

# **EUROPEAN UNION**

BE Belgium BG Bulgaria

CZ Czech Republic

DK Denmark DE Germany EE Estonia ΙE Ireland GR Greece ES Spain FR France IT Italy CYCyprus LV Latvia LT Lithuania LU Luxembourg HU Hungary MT Malta Netherlands NLAT Austria PL Poland PT Portugal RO Romania

SK Slovak Republic

Slovenia

FI Finland SE Sweden

UK United Kingdom

# **CANDIDATE COUNTRIES**

HR Croatia

MK FYRMacedonia

TR Turkey

# **EFTA**

SI

CH Switzerland
IS Iceland
LI Liechtenstein
NO Norway

#### OTHER EUROPEAN COUNTRIES

AD Andorra AL Albania

BA Bosnia Herzegovina

BY Belarus

MC Monaco

MD Republic of Moldova

ME Montenegro RS Serbia

RU Russian Federation

SM San Marino UA Ukraine VA Vatican City

XK Kosovo (UNSCR1244)

# 05 NORTH AFRICA

DZ Algeria
EG Egypt
LY Libya
MA Morocco
TN Tunisia

# 06 OTHER AFRICA

AO Angola
BF Burkina Faso
BI Burundi
BJ Benin
BW Botswana

CD Republic Democratic of Congo CF Central African Republic

CG Congo
CI Ivory Coast
CM Cameroon
CV Cape Verde
DJ Djibouti
ER Eritrea
ET Ethiopia
GA Gabon

GA Gabon
GH Ghana
GM Gambia
GN Guinea

GQ Equatorial Guinea GW Guinea-Bissau

KE Kenya
LR Liberia
LS Lesotho
MG Madagascar
ML Mali
MR Mauritania
MU Mauritius

MW Malawi
MZ Mozambique
NA Namibia
NE Niger
NG Nigeria

RW Rwanda SC Seychelles SD Sudan

SL Sierra Leone SN Senegal SO Somalia

ST Sao Tome and Principe

Swaziland SZTD Chad TG Togo Tanzania TZUG Uganda South Africa ZA ZMZambia ZW Zimbabwe

#### 07 NORTH AMERICA

BM Bermuda CA Canada GL Greenland

PM Saint Pierre and Miquelon US United States of America

# 08 CENTRAL AMERICA AND CARRIBEAN

AG Antigua and Barbuda AN Netherlands Antilles

BB Barbados
BS Bahamas
BZ Belize
CR Costa Rica
CU Cuba

DO Dominican Republic

DM Dominica GD Grenada GT Guatemala HN Honduras HTHaiti JM Jamaica MX Mexico NI Nicaragua PA Panama PR Puerto Rico SVEl Salvador

TT Trinidad and Tobago

# 09 SOUTH AMERICA

AR Argentina
BO Bolivia
BR Brazil
CL Chile

CO Colombia EC Ecuador GY Guyana PE Peru PY Paraguay SR Surinam UY Uruguay VE Venezuela

#### 10 EAST ASIA

CN China JP Japan TW Taiwan

# 11 NEAR AND MIDDLE EAST

AE United Arab Emirates

AM Armenia AZAzerbaijan Bahrein BH GE Georgia ILIsrael IO Iraq IR Iran JO Jordan KG Kyrgyzstan Kuwait KW KZKazakhstan LB Lebanon OMOman PS Palestine QA **Qatar** 

SA Saudi Arabia

SY Syria
TJ Tajikistan
TM Turkmenistan
UZ Uzbeksitan
YE Yemen

# 12 SOUTH AND SOUTH EAST ASIA

AF Afghanistan
BD Bangladesh
BN Brunei
BT Bhutan
ID Indonesia
IN India
KH Cambodia

KP Dem. People's Republic of Korea(North)

KR Republic of Korea (South)

LA Laos LK Sri Lanka MM Myanmar MN Mongolia Maldives MVMalaysia MY NP Nepal Philippines PH PK Pakistan Singapore SG Thailand TH TL East Timor VN Vietnam

# 13 AUSTRALIA, OCEANIA AND OTHER TERRITORIES

AU Australia FJ Fiji

FM Micronesia
NC New Caledonia
NZ New Zealand
PF French Polynesia
PG Papua New Guinea
SB Solomon Islands

VU Vanuatu

# 14 OTHER + STATELESS

Blank No answer